Cat advice, vacation rental advice
August 12, 2021 12:19 PM   Subscribe

Any last minute tips to minimize stress for my cat (tax) as we head off for vacation?

I'm renting a house with some friends for a week. It's a two hour car trip to get there, and is my first post-Covid overnight away from home. It's my cat's first vacation ever.

After going back and forth for a while I decided to bring him, as vastly superior to boarding him somewhere and probably better than having a cat sitter give him 15 minutes of attention each day. But I have no travel experience with him so not sure how he'll react. He is fairly chill and friendly overall.

Any advice to minimize the stress on him? I'm bringing familiar toys, his cat bed, etc. and otherwise taking a common sense approach and hoping for the best.
posted by mark k to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (24 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

If I'm being honest—leaving him home with a cat sitter that gives him 15 minutes of attention a day will be far less stressful to him than having him endure 2 hours in the car (if he's not used to traveling), and spending a week away from his territory.

Don't take it personally, but most cats are homebodies, and would rather be at home, with or without you.
posted by vitout at 12:25 PM on August 12, 2021 [36 favorites]

How will you transport him? Crate? If so, start getting him comfortable in it now. Feed him in it, help him see it as a place of comfort. Put a dirty t-shirt of yours in it, let him 'nest' in it. Leave it out and open at all times. Leave it out an open in the rental home. When you get to the rental home, leave him in the crate and give him a small room to roam in. He won't need free roam of the house probably until you're ready to leave the vacation home.

Also get him used to wearing a collar/harness and/or possibly walking on a lead. This will help you in transporting him.