How to approach this type of work
August 1, 2021 4:19 AM   Subscribe

I am currently working as an admin assistant for the NHS in the UK. I have been asked if I would like to undertake the role of contacting patients with Hepatitis C and persuading them to attend a clinic appointment.

Many of the patients fail to attend their appointments and the uptake is low. I also believe that because of their situation, many have gone off the radar. I have no experience with this type of work and am looking for any tips/advice on how to approach this or examples of scripts I could use. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
posted by charlen to Work & Money (4 answers total)

Best answer: I've worked with this population and this seems to be more of a social worker thing than simply have people call and say "hey! You have missed your appointment. Can you come this day?" If you aren't a social worker and have no experience in this I would ask what kind of training are they providing you before agreeing.

If it is simple appointment reminders and that's what you want to do, go for it. Otherwise I would be wary of being undertrained and ill equipped to actually respond in a way that will be useful even with a variety of scripts provided to you. People don't follow scripts. They just don't.

This sort of thing is a huge pet peeve of mine for many reasons which undervalues the training and experience of actual social workers and assumes that phone calls are a thing that anyone can do because it's just a phone call.