Halp with software dev SMART goals
June 3, 2021 1:29 PM   Subscribe

I'm at a new, very large company. I haven't met my manager yet and he has no link whatsoever to the actual project I'm on. This project does not 'interact' with the rest of the company. I do not interact with the rest of the company. But I have to set SMART goals for manager to evaluate in September. Help me come up with something, anything!

I'm so stuck on this. I'm a software developer on a large, important project. But the team I'm on is made up of various contractors. Only three us of are employees of this company requesting my SMART goals. And I've never even had an orientation to the company. I basically 'belong' to the project and the project only.

This project is in early stages and we only started banging out code in the last month. We don't have all the requirements. We don't know if we will have to scrap our work and start over. So we don't know how much we have completed. And won't for quite some time.

In this context, I need to come up with 5 SMART goals in the categories:
Service Delivery Excellence
Employee Engagement
Customer Satisfaction
Business Growth
Financial Stewardship

Can you please help me with some these even if they are total BS? I can't think of a single thing I can say that would have a metric like '30% increase', '70% complete' because with this project, we are just scrambling and doing our best to work and the truth is this performance review stuff is a huge distraction.
posted by kitcat to Work & Money (12 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

- Disruptive inflection increase of 30%; leading to an overall 10% improvement to team evangelization synergy.
posted by Jessica Savitch's Coke Spoon at 1:34 PM on June 3, 2021 [2 favorites]

Response by poster: No joke - I was actually thinking one strategy would be to use a lot of jargon so my manager has to pretend he actually knows what I'm talking about.
posted by kitcat at 1:36 PM on June 3, 2021