Crapola growth-oriented work-zoom get-to-know-you activity needed
May 4, 2021 7:06 PM   Subscribe

Okay maybe it's not crapola. I and another person at this law firm have been tasked with hosting an all-hands meeting. I'm a librarian here; our little department has recently been enveloped into a new group with such as recruiting, applications training, etc. My presenting partner has little interest, but the task is ours, so I want to find two 20-minute exercises.

But what? They have to be interactive for approx. 30 people, they have to be foolproof on Zoom, and it can't cost any money.

?!?!?
posted by goofyfoot to Work & Money (10 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

The only thing I still love on Zoom is when people log into a meeting and their dogs or cats are all up in their business, so I vote one of these activities is everyone introducing their pets (or sharing their favorite animal if they don't have a pet).
posted by deludingmyself at 9:21 PM on May 4 [2 favorites]

I participated in a get-to-know-you activity where the host asked everyone to grab their favorite mug and share its story. It was actually really fun; most people had a mug that they had purchased as a souvenir or received as a gift, and one person who didn't was able to adapt by sharing a special pint glass instead. It gave everyone a chance to talk about themselves a bit without feeling too invasive (or facing the question I personally dread: "what are your hobbies?"). And it was fully Zoom-proof; just turn on your camera and mic, hold the mug up, talk for 1-2 minutes, and the it's on to the next person.
posted by neushoorn at 10:41 PM on May 4 [19 favorites]

I also vote for some kind of show-and-tell-activity. We had some fun doing "the weirdest object in your house" and had the other team members guess what it might be used for, if that wasn't intuitive. Lends itself to hobby-talk, but doesn't necessarily force it.