Dating for the single mom
May 4, 2021 8:20 AM   Subscribe

I want to date again. I have some questions about how this might work as a 40-something with a kid. It's been awhile :-)

The details:

- My son is four years old. He's an only child. He's a generally calm, well-behaved kid. He is young enough to bond with someone else.

- His father is deceased. I am not sure if this is a selling point (no sharing custody with someone) or a drawback (no elsewhere for child to go).

- I have two sets of parents and am still involved with my late husband's family. The pro: they are very supportive. The con: three mother-in-laws.

- I am a professional with a decent job. I have a good, albeit rented, home. I have my shi-- together and would be seeking same.

The last time I dated was probably 15 years ago. I was a different person then. My life was different then. I am not sure where to begin this time.
posted by ficbot to Human Relations (11 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

The best way to date is, and always has been, someone you know naturally through mutual friends or hobbies.

Second to that, I've lately found hinge and bumble to both be relatively-slightly-better-than-other-options. Have photos of you having fun, not filtered selfies that only show your face. Be up front with how you have kids, father isn't in the picture at all, but you're excited to date and chat when they are with a sitter, etc.
posted by bbqturtle at 8:36 AM on May 4 [3 favorites]

You sound great. I hear only pros and no cons.
Put your open heart and intention out there and see where it leads!
posted by St. Peepsburg at 8:47 AM on May 4 [3 favorites]