complete newbie to brokerage account - tax question
April 28, 2021 8:05 PM   Subscribe

A generous relative is helping me (someone with zero experience/knowledge of investment) set up a brokerage account (not a retirement account, which I know is different) and is going to start off by depositing some money for me to do what I wish with. I'll be seeking detailed investment advice elsewhere, but for the purposes of this post, I have tax questions.

I realize that any interest I earn from investments is taxable. But my questions are:

1. Do I pay the taxes on this interest every year no matter what, or only when I withdraw/use/transfer it?
2. Will I need to pay taxes on the initial amount given to me by the relative who sets up the account? I think it's going to be more than the annual gift allowance of $15k.
3. When I start adding money (transferred from my regular checking/savings) to the new account myself, does that count as taxable income or something else?

Sorry if this is obvious! I hope it makes sense.
posted by CancerSucks to Work & Money (11 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Assuming you're American...

(1) Income received in a regular brokerage account, whether interest, dividends, or other, is taxable. However, if you own, e.g., a stock and the price of the stock goes up that year, you are not taxed on that gain, which is only a paper gain, until you sell that stock and "realize" the gain. You will receive 1099s at the end of the year from your brokerage showing any taxable income you've received.

(2) No. Even if it were taxable, which it is almost certainly not, the giver, not the recipient, pays the taxes.