What's going on with these identical websites?
April 25, 2021 6:40 AM   Subscribe

Inspired by previous askmes I was looking for some nice heavyweight new t-shirts, but along my travels realised that some of these websites are basically identical. Whats going on?

Is it just a website template recommended by the supplier or something? People setting up knock-off sites with the same product? Normally the identical sites and stock pictures would ring big shipped-direct-from-China warning bells to me but they're missing the other usual tells for that, and the text does differ even though the t-shirts seem exactly the same.
posted by stillnocturnal to Computers & Internet (5 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
Best answer: They are, in fact, sites hosted by the same company. I quick WhoIs shows their parent is Teemill.com
posted by Thorzdad at 6:53 AM on April 25, 2021 [2 favorites]

They are the same storefront. If you click thru "terms of use" at the bottom, they are identical, all refer to Teemill Tech.
posted by kschang at 8:14 AM on April 25, 2021 [1 favorite]

FWIW, I see this same thing with appliance or auto parts sites. Different names and urls, but the same store.
posted by Thorzdad at 8:54 AM on April 25, 2021

Response by poster: Ah! So there's probably not much call to be suspicious of the actual manufacturing claims then (other than the usual issues)? That is good to know.
posted by stillnocturnal at 10:12 AM on April 25, 2021

Best answer: I've bought loads of stuff from Rapanui (aka Teemill), all above board.

See my two comments in this recent thread about Rapanui, and the Rapanui backstory on their website, which talks about developing the Teemill platform so others could use their production facilities to print their own T-shirts.
posted by penguin pie at 4:09 PM on April 25, 2021 [2 favorites]

« Older Therapy via Telehealth. How?   |   Look for a site showing step-by-step HTML + CSS... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.