Applying for a job via governmentjobs.com
April 7, 2021 4:49 PM   Subscribe

Have you successfully gotten a job (or interview) via governmentjobs.com? It's a standard form where you input your job and education experience, and then a separate page of specific questions from the place you're applying. I'm wondering if it's a good move to also upload a resume and cover letter, because my job history is unconventional and I feel like I could explain myself better in a way that a string of unrelated jobs does not. But do they look at these? Any advice for looking good via this system?

It's a library clerk position. I am predominately an artist but my income comes from jobs.
posted by misoramen to Work & Money (6 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I'm a librarian and I've applied for a lot of jobs on governmentjobs.com. I've gotten quite a few interviews but no job offers.

You should definitely upload a cover letter. Upload a resume if they ask for it, but if they don't... I figure they already have all your job and education experience. Because so many of the employers who post jobs on that site are local governments and everybody does things a little bit differently, I don't think I can say much that's helpful about the site as a whole. But with the jobs I applied for, the impression that I got was that they were first and foremost looking for positive answers to the page of specific questions - e.g., do you have X degree? Do you have X years of professional experience in libraries? - and they would prioritize people who made the cut with those questions before looking at any of the other application materials (cover letter, etc.) in depth.
posted by Jeanne at 5:14 PM on April 7

I think supplying a resume and cover letter won't hurt your chances.