What can I do to help him lose weight?
March 29, 2006 9:37 PM   Subscribe

How do I empower and support my boyfriend in his goal to lose weight?

My boyfriend has been struggling with his weight for the past 6 months, and I am trying to find ways to encourage and empower him in his goal to lose weight.

He has successfully done it in the past, going on regular weights and cardio, with a healthy diet. He has tried to do it again since January, starting a workout routine again, but it's not working. We've talked about it, and the difference this time is the amount of support he has.

Before, this was an important issue for his friends. They would go to the gym together, have it be a social thing, and his friends were genuinely interested in his well being. Unfortunately, those friends have moved away, and he doesn't have the support network like he used to.

I'd like to be supportive, but at the moment there are limitations. I am a student, don't have my own car, and am on a different schedule than him. This means I can't workout with him every workout, and I can't go on the same diets as him. I've just started working out as well, but he is definitely the expert, so most of the time I'm asking him for advice on proper form/tips.

What can I do(small, big, whatever) to help him?
posted by Rowgun to Health & Fitness (22 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

It's not your job to "empower" him to lose weight. If he truly needs someone to go to the gym with him every day- where are the friends he used to work out with?
posted by fshgrl at 9:39 PM on March 29, 2006

It's not your job to "empower" him to lose weight.

And yet, it's oh-so-much easier to do it with people around who support you.