another getting published question!
April 4, 2021 2:40 PM   Subscribe

I have been advised by a friend who is an editor at a publication where I submitted an essay for consideration (though not in her area) to reach out to the essays editor and inquire about the status of my submission, since it has been nearly three months and that is within the timeline of when they were planning on getting back to writers who submit. I am still new at this. How do I approach writing this email?

The publication is actually a well-known lit mag affiliated with my alma mater. My friend, "Joan", is also an alum and is the editor of the book reviews section of this pub. She has been working there for years, and said that the pub LOVES promoting the work of their alums and that my essay would basically be a shoo-in, and she put in a very good word for me with the essays editor when I submitted my piece.

However, now it is out of Joan's hands. She is not involved in editorial decisions that aren't for reviews, and doesn't know what the timeline is in the other editorial departments. I reached out to her recently to inquire about my submission and she said that since she doesn't have insight into that department she thought there would be no harm in me reaching out to the editor of that department to politely inquire about my submission.

I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO MAKE THIS INQUIRY!

I am new to getting published! I've been accepted for publication at exactly one other lit mag! ONE! I don't know what I'm doing! What do I write in an email to this editor? How do I do it in a way that isn't entitled-sounding or off-putting? Writers of AskMe, PLEASE HALP!!! I need a script.

Thanks.
posted by nayantara to Writing & Language (6 answers total)