What am I Doing Wrong in the Actual Interview?
March 27, 2006 11:30 AM   Subscribe

I'm falling down on the actual interviews - what should I be doing, reading, projecting, etc ...?

I've been in my field for 10 years (Marketing) and my background is specialized but there are no major potholes - worked for variety of companies small and large so while I'm not a perfect candidate for every marketing position, I think I have enough on the background. My problem is the interviews. I have a nice suit, clean shaven, I have copies of everything and I know all the right answers to the "regular" interview questions - but I think I'm somehow not projecting that I'll fit in - of course, I'm still a little nervous but I think it's more than that. How should I be prepping myself to project what? As an interviewer, beyond the technical & background stuff, what personality or projections do you want to see in a senior mgmt interviewee? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
posted by jbelkin to Work & Money (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Look into the DiSC personality profiles. Meet as many of the people in a company where you (think you) want to work. Do their personalities make a good fit with yours? Remember that no matter how you practice the "right" answers to all the standard questions, there are parts of your personality that shine through in the things you volunteer about yourself and the manner in which you divulge anything.
posted by bilabial at 11:45 AM on March 27, 2006

Ask a friend or colleague or two to put you through a mock interview and videotape yourself. This can help you to see if there are mannerisms that are giving the wrong impression about your personality. I sometimes have the habit of looking away from an interviewer when answering questions.

Maintain good eye contact and make sure you are speaking from your diaphragm. This will help to make you seem less whiny.
posted by JJ86 at 12:11 PM on March 27, 2006