Cultural/historical focused tours in Africa?
January 5, 2021 6:37 PM   Subscribe

I started looking through all the great-looking websites linked in this question and got frustrated again that I can't find many tours that aren't 90% safari, South Africa, or Morocco. Does anyone have city-focused tours of anywhere in Africa besides that?

Parameters are:
-I studied history, and lots of history of places all over the continent, so I would be happy to go to any country except Morocco or SA (I have done both countries already, and it kind of annoys me there are so many Cape Town tours but God forbid we show anything but giraffes in Kenya.) I know Africa is a GIANT continent with lots of varied cultures, but I truly would be game to go to anywhere safe enough to visit.
-Something like the Dar es Salaam/Stone Town days of this tour would be ideal!
-The thing that intimidates me about going to, say, Kenya on my own is running around Nairobi on my own as a white woman (I would stick out) and then trying to get around the country. That's why a tour would be nice: they would get me around to all the sights and I wouldn't be on my own.
-Some countries (like Kenya) I think I could probably manage on my own because they are well-trodden tourist routes, so if you have "easier" country recs feel free to mention, but I am most interested in tours.
-This would be after the pandemic, whenever that is :)
posted by clarinet to Travel & Transportation (10 answers total) 13 users marked this as a favorite

You may be interested in looking for tours of Dakar and St. Louis in Senegal. However, these generally cater to French speaking tourists.

Ghana is better for English speakers and might interest you with Accra, Kumasi and Cape Coast

But a lot of the wildlife and natural parks are extremely remarkable and worth the visit! That being said, I think any trip to Tanzania needs to include Zanzibar (beaches and stone town).
posted by raccoon409 at 6:58 PM on January 5, 2021 [1 favorite]