How do I go from software contractor to service provider?
December 10, 2020 3:28 AM   Subscribe

I've been in software development for twenty years. Both my degrees are in it, and I've got a bucketload of experience covering distributed systems, cloud, fintech, bioinformatics. But I'm tired of working for other companies and I would love to build a bespoke software development company that reflects my core values. How do I go from here to there?

I've been a contractor for five years now, and I've worked with a bunch of different teams. On some teams I've not been in a position of influence, in others I've been the de facto lead dev, on one or two I've been technical architect as well as team lead.

It's gotten to the point now that, although I enjoy the new challenges that contracting brings every six to twelve months, I'm enjoying the new teams less and less. Yes, I love bootstrapping a team: getting them all on the same page, with the same standards and the same ethos. There are teams that I've left behind who to this day will cite processes that I put - or helped put - in place as the reason that they do their jobs as well as they do.

But I dislike coming into a new team and having to fight with other people whose standards don't align with my own. There's a lot of sloppy coders out there; people who don't think that software should be unit tested, or who will happily copy and paste instead of encouraging code re-use.

I would love for 2021 be the year that I build a team to solve other people's problems. A team (and a company) that's built around the core values I -- and the best devs that I've worked with -- hold as software engineers: pragmatism coupled with personal and team responsibility; robustness coupled with performance; QA as a first-order part of the team instead of a separate team to which things get handed off later on down the line.