Now USB-C me, now you don't.
October 28, 2020 8:37 PM   Subscribe

I just bought a USB C SSD, to plug into a MacBook Air that has only USB C ports. The SSD came with a USB C->USB A cable, plus a USB A->USB C adapter. What?

Okay, so I bought this cheap USB C SSD. I am new to the world of USB C peripherals, so I expected it to come with a cable that has USB C at both ends. Instead it came with a cable that has a USB C plug at one end, and a USB A plug at the other end.

They also included an adapter that turns that USB A plug into a USB C plug. So by using the adapter, I can effectively get USB C on both ends and plug the SSD into my MacBook Air.

But.

Doesn't the trip through USB A and back again slow things down? Don't we lose the speed advantage that USB C has over USB A if we make a round trip through USB A?

So then I looked to see what it would cost to buy a cable that has USB C at both ends. And it turns out that most of the cables for sale on Amazon are the kind I have: USB C on one end and USB A on the other. The few cables that have USB C on both ends are advertised as "charging cables", and I'm afraid using them to attach the SSD could end up frying something. (I've heard things like that can happen if you use the wrong USB C cable).

Can someone explain to me what's going on here and how this makes sense? If I'm going to start entering the world of USB C, I'd like to understand it.

Thank you.
posted by Winnie the Proust to Computers & Internet (14 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

USB C took a confusing interface and increased the confusion exponentially.

Try https://monoprice.com for reasonable cables at all lengths, multiple colors, high quality, reasonable prices.
posted by blob at 8:55 PM on October 28 [1 favorite]