What is this saying?
October 18, 2020 2:43 PM   Subscribe

I'm listening to the old NPR All Things Considered theme from between 1983 to 1995 (https://youtu.be/u5MKiTdWo4E) and have always heard Morse code. I can't figure out what it's saying. I hear either - dit-dit / dit-dah-dit-dah-dit or dit-dit / dah-dah-dit-dah-dit. What is it actually saying and is it something composer B.J. Liederman inserted as something for insiders?
posted by CollectiveMind to Media & Arts (9 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

Sorry, meant Don Voegeli.
posted by CollectiveMind at 2:47 PM on October 18

My guess is it's meant to mimic, or evoke, the sound of teletype machines that were found in newsrooms. NPR ran a story once about the theme and some variations, though I have yet to find a transcript or a listenable audio file of the story.
posted by knile at 7:10 PM on October 18 [5 favorites]

Well, when I was young a long time ago I was a licensed amateur radio operator. Now I only remember the mnemonics like EISH and TMO, etc. But I looked it up and, dit-dit is "I", a string of 5 is uncommon but perhaps dah-dah-dit and then dah-dit, which would be "GN" so it could be "IGN" but I doubt it.

I also had a friend who had gotten some government surplus teletype equipment and would use it to communicate with other similarly equipped "ham operators". So I am familiar with the sound of a teletype and your audio clip might evoke that, though not as clipped or mechanical as the real thing.

I would add that one of the radio stations in my area (KYW 1060) used to have a faint background teletype sound in the background (as knile points out). See this story about it being discontinued, which has a sample report where you can hear it faintly in the background. I remember listening to the school snow storm closing reports with that sound in the background. Ah, nostalgia.
posted by forthright at 8:05 PM on October 18 [1 favorite]