Please explain weed "spot killers"
October 10, 2020 9:37 AM   Subscribe

I've never used plant poison on "weeds" before, but ....

Years ago I planted some datura plants in my garden that grew into monstrously big plants, which now give gorgeous, fragrant, huge flowers, that the night-time pollinator insects love. Due to the evolution of my garden, I now wish them gone so I can plant apples and asparagus. They are too big to transplant; they form huge tubers/root masses the size of my leg, deep down. I've tried a few times to dig them out, and have failed; they come back like a subterranean hydra. I've always been strictly no poison but I must conserve what energy I have left for digging. Is there a poison I can use that will still allow me to safely eat apples in 6 years and asparagus in 3? Poisons have an expiration date right? Do plant killers break down eventually? Thank you .
posted by hollyanderbody to Home & Garden (11 answers total)

Spray the foliage with Roundup and wait about 2 weeks for the plant to fully die before you cut it back. Plant your new trees.

Source: You likely eat food every year that was directly sprayed with Roundup and you are still alive.
posted by vonliebig at 9:47 AM on October 10 [3 favorites]

Wikipedia says:
Datura species are usually sown annually from the seed produced in the spiny capsules, but, with care, the tuberous-rooted perennial species may be overwintered. Most species are suited to being planted outside or in containers. As a rule, they need warm, sunny places and soil that will keep their roots dry. When grown outdoors in good locations, the plants tend to reseed themselves and may become invasive. In containers, they should have porous, aerated potting soil with adequate drainage. The plants are susceptible to fungi in the root area, so anaerobic organic enrichment such as anaerobically composted organic matter or manure, should be avoided.[10]
Can you flood the area?
posted by aniola at 10:39 AM on October 10