pay rate increase for contract programming
October 6, 2020 11:29 AM   Subscribe

I do occasional contract jobs for a single client in my specialty niche, once or twice a year taking several weeks each. I've been charging the same $100/hour rate since 2017 and wonder if it's time to bump that up, perhaps to $125/hr ... so asking here if that seems reasonable. Have contract programming costs increased by a quarter over the past three years? I've been retired a while and have no real contact with "software engineering" now, nor contacts to ask.
posted by windsock to Computers & Internet (11 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: (I've been a project manager working with contractor developers for several years now)

For highly specialized work, yes, $125 entirely reasonable, especially when it's well below full-time.

That's entirely separate from how your specific single client may feel about a 25% bump YOY. If one of my contractors raised their rates that much in a single year I'd probably at least check to see if I had an alternative, because if it's full-time work for several weeks, that'll add up fast - assuming it's a relatively small org or small overall budget, that is. If you're just one expensive part of a huge expensive project, you may not encounter as much pushback.

I would still be prepared to discuss why the rate is higher, and/or negotiate.
posted by Tomorrowful at 11:50 AM on October 6, 2020 [2 favorites]

Best answer: You could consider stepping the rate increase -- $110 this year, $120 next year, $125 the year after.
Or, you could consider giving a discount for a pre-agreed amount of hours -- $125/hr with no commitment or $100 with an X hour commitment.
Or, if you want to be really retired unless you get paid more, tell them the price has increased and keep it firm.
There are a lot of options.
posted by elmay at 12:07 PM on October 6, 2020 [2 favorites]