Copywriting/Editing Jobs
September 16, 2020 4:11 PM   Subscribe

I would love some advice about beginning a career in technical writing, copy writing, editing, or some combination thereof. I am a complete novice and am looking to enter the field. My background is in education and libraries.

As noted above, I may wan to embark on a new career path. I know this will be difficult with Covid, but I am trying to expand my options outside the library field. Since I was a young person, I was already skilled at grammar/spelling/punctuation, etc. I also really enjoy writing and am usually skilled at it, (especially nonfiction). I have absolutely no educational or experiential training in this field at all. I just have an aptitude, and I like it. Are there entry-level jobs out there? I keep seeing jobs where the applicant needs like...5 years of experience. I am also interested in online courses if you experts think those would be helpful. Basically, I would love a job where I can WFH on something related to the aforementioned skills/topics. Thank you!
posted by bookworm4125 to Work & Money (11 answers total) 25 users marked this as a favorite

You can start at Upwork or Fiverr or some other freelancing clearinghouse. You'll probably find bad jobs with low pay and an overall unpleasant experience. As you get some reviews/reputation on the site the jobs and pay will get slightly better, but the real payoff is that you can then apply to an actual job and say "I've been freelancing for X years and have worked with [list of clients]. Attached is a portfolio of my professional writing."