How do I get more comfortable speaking to a camera?
September 13, 2020 10:48 PM   Subscribe

I'm planning to record some math tutorial videos for university level math. Whenever I try to record a video, I come across as awkward and unnatural and I don't sound as good as when I'm talking to someone face to face. Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can sound more natural when speaking to a camera?

Several years ago, I worked as a math tutor at my local university. I was pretty good at it and it was my full time job for several years. At the time, I had wanted to create a website with videos that students could purchase access to as a more affordable option to hiring a tutor. At the time, the technology wasn't really easy to use and I didn't get that far. Now, I think the technology is there and I also think it's a good time to do this when many students will be limiting their person-to-person contact and therefore may be hesitant about meeting a tutor. Therefore, I was planning to record some tutorial videos and sell access to them for a low fee. The problem I'm having is that I find it considerably more awkward to teach the material to a webcam than to a face to face person. When I try record myself, I feel like I come across as stiff and awkward and I don't sound as natural as I do when speaking to someone face to face. I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas for how I can get more comfortable speaking to a camera.
posted by NoneOfTheAbove to Technology (6 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Is there someone in your household who can sit off camera (or on camera?), so you can teach that person? That would re-create the face to face energy your current recordings lack.
posted by Spacelegoman at 11:27 PM on September 13, 2020

Talking into a camera is definitely not natural for most of us but a lot of this is fake it til you make it, i.e. practice a lot until it starts to feel normal.