Apply for management job after 5 months in new role?
September 11, 2020 4:47 PM   Subscribe

Should I stay in my current role or pursue management role after 5 months with the same company?

Ive been out of school and working entry level jobs for about 3 years with the same company. I work for a health plan as a pharmacist. About 5 months ago, I made a lateral move to a new position in the same company in order to gain more experience. I’m happy where I’m at now and I’m growing a lot and making a lot of great connections
Recently I just found out that my department is adding 2 new manager roles to the company. I heard that the hiring director is interested in filling one of the spots with an internal person who has also been with the company for the same amount of time as me (3 years) but she’s been working in this apartment the entire time. I’m interested in the other position because of the potential for a pay raise and I do believe I can succeed in it. However since I’m new to the role, I wonder if it looks bad if I try to take another role now. Would it look like I’m just trying to find the next best thing constantly? Should I just wait until I get more experience then look later on? The fact that the hiring director (same person) did not encourage me to apply means she probably does not see me as a potential candidate. I appreciate your thoughts. I’m just feeling a little FOMO.
posted by missybitsy to Work & Money (4 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite