depersonalizing constructive job application criticism
September 10, 2020 2:36 AM   Subscribe

I am in the process of applying for non-academic jobs (don't tell my supervisor) because lol the academic job market doesn't really exist anymore. My boyfriend is helping me with applications. Every time he critiques or even gently edits my cover letter or resume, it makes me cry. This is enormously frustrating for me. How do I make it stop??

I have been a postdoc for a few years, and am slowly coming to terms with the fact that I am probably not going to be successful in applying for faculty positions this year. I am applying for non-academic positions. My boyfriend, who has a great industry job, is helping me apply, but talking about it and choices I am making and responding to his suggestions or critiques makes me get very emotional and almost inevitably cry.

I don't cry in response to feedback in most other situations, including in response to academic job material critiques. My last 10 years in academia have left me REALLY GOOD at rejection and responding to constructive (and, to some extent, not constructive) feedback and I think the last time I cried in response to feedback might have been my first grant rejection? I suspect that this is tied up in feeling like I have failed at the thing I devoted the last 14 or so years of my life to, and so working to make a different path more feasible and more likely is enormously painful? I suppose that's a painful thread to untangle at a different time.