BigBlueButton as a service, on demand?
August 1, 2020 7:51 AM   Subscribe

I'm working with an organization who wants to use BigBlueButton (or equivalent software) to run 20-30 person events for (say) a couple hours each week. They can't afford to run it 24/7, so we were exploring the possibility of spinning up a server on the cloud (EC2) for only the hour or two of the event. This is significantly cheaper, of course, but means that someone has to start and stop the instance. Questions within...

Is there a service that already does this for me? I am an experienced programmer - I'm familiar with AWS and was able to set up a Jitsi server in an evening. I could build a simple webpage that could start up/shut down the server. But I've not done much ops work - is this more work than I'm anticipating? If you've done something like this in the past, I'd especially like to hear from you.
posted by i like crows very much to Computers & Internet (5 answers total)

"Simple" version using Lambda.

Another method using the AWS Instance Scheduler.

Caveat: I haven't personally done either. These are resources I stumbled over earlier while looking for something unrelated. But they seem to address exactly the problem you have.
posted by sourcequench at 8:23 AM on August 1

I did this exact thing for my group trivia night, but ended up just leaving it on all the time. I set up on digital ocean instead of AWS/GCP becasue DO is cheaper.

They have a pretty solid api, and I have to imagine that EC2 has a similar setup. If you already have a BBB/Jitsi server set up, start/stop should be just a handful of api calls. I've only actually used the start-stop API a few times, because I normally just do it from the dev console. Is there a reason that's not an option here?
posted by cirgue at 8:26 AM on August 1

cirgue: They might host many events per week, so I don't want to have to manually do it each time.
posted by i like crows very much at 9:21 AM on August 1