is hiring cooking help a thing for regular people?
July 30, 2020 2:14 PM   Subscribe

I used to really love to cook, but cooking for my family while everyone is home all the time is a PITA. Can I pay someone to help me?

The thing is that the foods my family likes to eat, while simple, are time intensive and a pain in the ass to prepare. (Low carb, lots of little cubed salads, carefully cooked lean proteins, no easy bulky starches..)

And now that everyone is home all the time, it seems like there's almost no realistic amount of work I can invest in the kitchen that will keep me ahead of the food consumption rates. The second I get done the fridge is empty again. My back hurts. And I know I'm not planning or executing at maximal efficiency. I'm no pro.

I wish I could sit down with an efficient, professional cook, and plan out a week's worth of food that works for my family. She would use some of my own recipes but also help me with ideas I haven't thought of yet. I'd grocery shop for whatever she would tell me to get; and she would come to my house 2-3 times a week to cook, and stock up my fridge with foods that reheat nicely. I would have a schedule that would tell me what meals get served when.

I'm imagining that this could be a good gig for an otherwise underemployed professional cook. I'd supply the cooking space (I have plenty of room and a well stocked kitchen) and the ingredients. She would supply the expertise and the labor. I'd pay appropriately.

Is this arrangement a thing? If it is, how would I find someone? I don't think I'm in the class of people who hire "private chefs" but maybe that's what this is? I really have no idea.
posted by fingersandtoes to Work & Money (7 answers total) 12 users marked this as a favorite