Is it feasible to bike across the Wright Memorial Bridge?
June 20, 2020 11:56 AM   Subscribe

I want to bike across the Wright Memorial Bridge (west to east, from the mainland to the Outer Banks) and can find very little information. Is this feasible? Has anyone done it in the last decade?

I am planning a long-distance bike trip from Washington, DC to Avon, NC. I have lots of experience biking rural roads in Virginia and North Carolina, as well as biking up and down the Outer Banks, so I am not worried about these areas. However, the route I was considering would lead me across the Wright Memorial Bridge, which is 3 miles across and (on the side I would be on, at least) has almost no shoulder.

Have any of you done this? I am especially curious about the traffic on the bridge, and how risky this stretch would be. Is there a certain time of day that would be better or worse?

I could only find two reports online of people doing this, one from the late 1990s, and another from 2005. If anyone knows of any more recent reports of biking across the Wright Memorial Bridge, I would love to know about them.
posted by kingoftonga86 to Travel & Transportation around North Carolina (4 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

There's a wide enough shoulder; I wouldn't hesitate. And it is two parallel bridges, now - one for each direction. For the least traffic, of course, go really late at night, off-season - but in-season, with traffic backed up would be pretty safe as well IMO.
posted by Rash at 12:14 PM on June 20, 2020

The Currituck Visitor's Guide has some info: Roadways and Bikeways