Best way to video record a conference call for later editing
June 7, 2020 6:07 AM   Subscribe

I am a video editor looking for the best way to record a video conference for later editing? I assume something like Zoom and a camera phone but how do I do that combination and get good audio via an external mic? Will zoom compress audio? Anyone had success with this in general? I'm open to any tools/apps Thanks so much.
posted by captainscared to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Maybe OBS? It's what gamers use to record and/or stream video games.
posted by smcameron at 6:25 AM on June 7, 2020 [1 favorite]

The absolute ideal is to have everyone be recording their own audio and video locally, as well as maybe recoding the conference call for reference. For the local recordings, most people's phones are good enough at this point that they'd probably be fine, although a mic can help with audio quality. The phone just needs to be positioned such that people are looking in its direction while on the call. They also REALLY need to wear headphones or earbuds, with the volume at a level that it isn't being picked up by the camera.

You'd just want to do a sync clap or a slate or something at the start of the call so that you can sync up everyone's local recordings later.
posted by Narrative Priorities at 7:09 AM on June 7, 2020 [2 favorites]

What are you trying to capture? Most just a single, local presenter or a mixture of lots of different people? If it's the latter, to get really good quality, you need to have local copies of each one made and then edit them together.

Will zoom compress audio?

Yes. If you're recording non-local audio, there will also be network caused glitches and dropouts.
posted by Candleman at 8:06 AM on June 7, 2020

This graphic might help.
posted by Think_Long at 9:07 AM on June 7, 2020 [1 favorite]

You can do all of this on your PC without the need to use a phone.