Math Trades 101: Hard how is it to setup an online clothing swap?
June 1, 2020 1:49 PM   Subscribe

A dear friend of mine runs an art and re-use community non-profit and the covid has hit its operations pretty hard. She's come to me asking about the difficulty level of hosting an online clothing swap event set up like a math trade as a possible means of recreating a common event that they used to hold in shop. This feels... hard?

I know BoardGameGeek has been running a Math Trade for seemingly forever, but I'm not super familiar with this outside of that context. I'm a front-end engineer, but I gather this seems rather difficult on the backend to match trades appropriately. Are there any other well known examples of this out in the wild that anyone can think of? Good related reading? Perhaps a better event-as-a-service stand-in that might be recommended instead?
posted by zsh2v1 to Computers & Internet (3 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

> seems rather difficult on the backend to match trades appropriately.

If the goal is to have some automated decision system to spit out the best combination of matching trades, then this is will be an example of a combinatorial optimisation problem -- this is the kind of problem that techniques and algorithms from operations research & graph theory can often be fruitfully applied to.