How to keep iPhone storage free for taking video
April 25, 2020 10:33 AM   Subscribe

As a newly-minted online teacher, I have been using my 32GB iPhone to shoot videos for my classes. After using AirDrop to store them on my desktop, I have to delete them from my phone to keep storage space free for the next batch. However, even after deleting them and clearing the "Recently Deleted" folder, my "Other" storage category doesn't drop. I need this space back!

I've watched this video and read other explanations saying that "Other" is just about cached Safari and other app stuff, but I do not believe this. Other than reading some Metafilter and a little YouTube, my phone is almost exclusively a video-creation device. It is impossible for me to rack up 10.5 GB of app data in one day. It is obvious to me that the iPhone holds onto the video files, or is somehow reserving that memory after I delete them and empty the trash.

To complicate things (for my understanding, anyway), this cycle of video/upload/delete/empty sometimes does the trick and I can get right back to work, and sometimes does not work for days (like right now, where I do not risk filling up the iPhone and being in the middle of a video).

I have tried restarting the phone several times. I have connected it to my computer to see if that helps. I have closed and reopened the settings app several times.

Can I delete the "Other" category? Is this "Other" category just a ghost of video's past?

Previous question about other (2010).
posted by klausman to Computers & Internet (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I have the exact same problem! It's so annoying. I have some tips that I'm hoping will help.

As far as actually being able to delete the video fully - this process using Image Capture works for me:
1. Connect iphone to macbook with USB charger cord
2. Open image capture
3. Unlock iphone and hope that image capture recognizes it as a device, which it does about 80% of the time