Worrying about my housekeeper during COVID-19. What to do?
April 21, 2020 5:05 AM   Subscribe

My beloved, longtime housekeeper has not been working during the COVID-19 crisis. My finances are stable so far and I have offered to pay her at the normal rate during the downtime, which she refuses. She asked to start working again in early May, which is not even remotely going to be safe in our hard-hit metro area. I declined this offer. I am struggling with guilt and am not even really sure what criteria I might use to agree to have her back. Help?

I am fearful for her health in general in this moment. Her proposal to return included a suggestion which leads me to think that she's doesn't understand the mechanics of transmission (i.e., for us to stay in the basement while she works.) English is not her first language. I work in the biomedical field (am not at risk for exposure) and am only too aware of the modes of transmission. Would be appropriate or insulting to try to find information to share with her in her first language?

I am fearful for my family's health if our house is one of her stops. No one in my household is immunocompromised or otherwise vulnerable, but we have imposed shelter in place strictly and I am not yet ready to risk this. As I contemplate this, I realize that I have no idea what criteria to establish that would even make sense to bring her back. Hive mind, can you help me think this through?