Want to travel with friend, but needtoo learn freelance skill for funds
April 10, 2020 5:59 PM   Subscribe

I have a bachelors in Psych, 3mths of a UX bootcamp course (GA), 8mths of UX for a small company before being laid off an unable to find a new job because of my lack of design skills, 9 mths of working with my Dad to start his business. I want to join my friend who wants to try out the freelance nomad lifestyle. How can I afford this?

My motivation: I was dumped by my first (and I thought only) girlfriend 3 weeks ago. I had plans to marry her and be a parent with her. But she abruptly dumped me.

I'm currently unemployed, but I'm working with my Dad to start a Painting and Roofing business. We are planning to launch the website by the end of April. I've been helping in the area of finding my more friends to build the website and carring along the flow of input by my parents.

My dad is pretty skilled. His father built a very well known remodeling company in Fort Worth from scratch, and my Dad worked for his dad for most of his life. In 2006, due to differences, my Dad left the company and started his own remodleing company, selling everything my Mom and him owned to start the company. He was super succcesful and even won Remodeler of the Year for Texas in 2010. Because of the impact of the Recession, he had to fold the company and move to Austin in 2013.

So, he has a track record of sucess minus a recession. And this business is only going to be a quick in-and-out paiting and roofing business that focuses on things that NEED to be done rather than extravagent purcheses... so that's how we are planning it to be recesion proof.

Anyway, I still am working with my dad. But after my breakup, I'm completly rethinking life. My best friend is in the same position and we talked seriously at length about working freelance and traveling the country and then world. At least for a couple of years.