Branching out from Earthboxes
April 1, 2020 10:18 AM   Subscribe

I've been growing cherry tomatoes, baby eggplants, cucumbers, potatoes, peas, and strawberries in containers (mostly Earthboxes) for a few years. I now have access to a small backyard as well and would like to branch out, but I have no experience growing vegetables in the ground (only flowers). Can you recommend some beginner resources?

I live in northern Massachusetts (zone 6A). I'm also on a budget, so I've been hesitant to order raised beds and do the trial and error thing (raised beds are so expensive!).
posted by marfa, texas to Home & Garden (7 answers total) 10 users marked this as a favorite

They don't have to be expensive. I recommend Gary Pilarchik for general methodology, plus he's in the Northeast so his zone is close to yours. Also MIGardener. Both have done series on budget raised beds, along with pretty much everything else. My other go-to is CaliKim, who does backyard gardening in a combination of beds and grow bags, which is also mostly what I use in my backyard instead of more permanent raised beds. Unless you can be very certain about year-round sun exposure, raised beds aren't always the best choice.
posted by Lyn Never at 10:24 AM on April 1