Tell me about how to become a remote technical writer
February 28, 2020 8:57 AM   Subscribe

I've been an online journalist, editor and writer for 15 years, working on tech, education and health subjects. Looking for ideas on next steps.

I'm originally from the UK, and when I moved to Canada, I had a couple of newsroom editorial management roles before joining a marketing team at a startup, a position I was miserably suited to, culture-wise, and was laid off from gladly. There's no way back into online journalism, because that's not a career any more.

Working with a career coach, I've found that quiet, focused work, where success is defined as being precise and clear rather obtaining the most retweets, suits me quite well. I've never worked in programming, but always been adjacent to it and used Python and JS to automate some of my work. I completed a data analytics course a couple of years ago, and technical writing seems to fit with my skillset and personality.

And given some life changes that may be coming up, and some family circumstances (including a kid with special needs), remote work would be ideal. I enjoy working with people and communicate very well over text and video call, but I bounce quite hard off general office culture and meetings. Most of my important relationships started through a screen.

What are some good next steps? Contributing to OSS projects to get a portfolio? Polishing up my GitHub? Learn MadCap Flare? Where should I network? I've just started applying for these kinds of roles, but hoping to get some more traction.

I'm 40, and in Toronto, if either of those things matter. Thanks.
posted by rpophessagr to Work & Money (2 answers total) 23 users marked this as a favorite

A portfolio should help. When I hire tech writers, I look for evidence that they can write clearly and concisely about technical subjects in a style that suits a technical audience. I especially look for well-written task documentation.