Adjunct instructors
January 28, 2020 6:04 AM   Subscribe

Are you an adjunct with a full time job? How do you grade?

I am an adjunct instructor for a college. I also have a full time job, so that although I try to grade within a reasonable time frame, I don't have time to do it all within the next day. Usually I try to grade 3-4 assignments a day so it takes me 30-60 minutes a day and I catch up with everyone on the weekends.

I grade based on when the assignments were turned in so the first assignments turned in are graded first and last assignments last. Is that completely inappropriate? Should I grade them slowly and "turn in" all the assignment grades at once? This would make more work because I would need to store the grades off-site and then upload them.

I've been doing this for four years the other way and no one has ever complained, but maybe I'm wrong, idk. According the university guidelines I am supposed to have grades in within a week. Usually that happens.
posted by anonymous to Education (11 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

When I was cursed with adjuncting and other employment, I graded on the weekends. Assignment turned in on monday gets returned on monday. Also I structured courses to have fewer things to grade! For example when I was teaching symbolic logic we went over the assignment in class as the majority of the class, doing the proofs and that were assigned and finding out where people were having trouble. Then they turn in their homework and I just have to check off whether they did it or not. Only tests were graded graded. (Honestly, universities: you get what you pay for. $2500 for 3 months of courses? I'm not working my ass off).
posted by dis_integration at 6:31 AM on January 28, 2020 [1 favorite]

I've been doing this for four years the other way and no one has ever complained