Javascript soundboard
November 4, 2019 12:34 PM   Subscribe

I'm coding a soundboard using HTML5 audio elements triggered by a Javascript onClick. What are the little tricks that an experienced coder would use to make this work as well as possible?

I'm a beginner Javascript coder, i.e. I know enough to be dangerous, but not enough to avoid all the bugs! I'm making a soundboard that contains about 120 small mp3s (averaging about 9kb per file), each triggered by a small button on the page.

What I have so far: each mp3 is called through HTML5 audio with a "preload='metadata'", a shared class, and an individual ID.

The buttons on the page have a JavaScript onClick that calls a function. That function does the following:
  • pauses all audio currently playing, by using a jQuery class selector and pause method.
  • loads the desired audio file. I included this because iOS seems to require a reload if you want to play the same audio more than once
  • resets the time to 0, in case it was paused halfway through earlier
  • plays the desired audio file
So far, so good, it seems to be working okay. The audio is a little delayed because it has to reload it each time, but it otherwise works fine.

And yet! I'm worried that I'm making some fundamental mistake that will cause me woes once it goes live. Experienced JavaScript coders, how can I refine this script so that it avoids all of the traps I don't know about?
posted by Paragon to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

I used Howler for a similar project and it saved me a lot of headaches. Highly recommended!
posted by sportbucket at 12:57 PM on November 4 [1 favorite]

Yeah, you’ll want to use a library for this, if you want it to work consistently. I have a project that is stuck because it just kept breaking as browsers update to stay ahead of auto-playing sound. Howler looks great, we have also been looking at tone.js.
posted by rockindata at 1:27 PM on November 4