Corporate IT strategies, small but perfectly formed edition
October 14, 2019 4:22 AM   Subscribe

You are a small (say under 50 people) company. What software tools do you use on a daily basis to get things done?

I'm a manager in a professional services firm with fewer than 50 employees working out of one location. I'm in the middle of updating our IT strategy, but so far we're mostly just deciding to replace things as they wear out or upgrade software which is no longer supported to the new version of that software - in other words, we're just rolling along in a steady state without really changing much.

Currently everyone has a desktop PC running Windows and MS Office, and an iPhone. We're going to change this a bit so that more people have laptops with docking stations to allow more mobile working.

We use some software which is specific to our industry, and we're looking at that separately. I'm more interested in finding out in general terms what hardware and software set up well-organised small companies use to get things done these days, ie to collaborate and manage workflows and documents. Does everyone in your organisation have a laptop, or an iPad with a detachable keyboard? Do you use Slack, or Dropbox corporate? Do people take iPads with Apple pens to meetings and make notes in Notability? These are just the things I've heard of - I'm sure there's lot of really good stuff out there I know nothing about.

I'm sorry the scope of this question is very broad. I feel I'm in the 'you don't know what you don't know' box at the minute, and I figure if I can get some ideas about what solutions people actually use, I could start thinking about whether it would work for us or not.
posted by meronym to Work & Money (9 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

It all depends on what line of work you are in, what compliance requirements you have, the technical know-how and savvy of your team, etc.