HElp rescue Orion from MinGW DLL hell
October 13, 2019 1:51 PM   Subscribe

I'm trying to compile some changes I made to 1OOM on WIndows. I've never done this before. I am used to Unix and Mac OS, which are much friendlier to my command-line centered workflow.

THere are instructions provided at this link, which I've followed. I've got to the point of having a working console program, as long as I run it from the Mingw shell. THe moment I try to run it from WIndows, I get errors about missing libreadline, and presumably other DLLs.

THere are instructions about this, which I've tried to follow, but there are no DLLS in /mingw32. The closest I've found is /mingw32/lib/libreadline.dll.a, which is apparently not actually a DLL, but an ar archive. I've unarchived it, which was a mistake, as it dumped a bunch of object files.

If there's another way to get a WIndows console version of this program going, I'd appreciate some help doing so. I've been struggling with the MXE cross compiler for quite a while, and finally gave up and decided to try it on WINdows directly. I want to get some changes to other blind players, who overwhelmingly use WIndows. Hope me, Metafilter. :)
posted by Alensin to Computers & Internet (6 answers total)

So I think you should be able to copy the necessary DLLs from wherever mingw keeps them into the same directory as the output executable. To find them, I'd enable Windows Subsystem for Linux, so that I can use familiar command line tools. Then run something like sudo find /mnt/c -iname libreadline.dll 2>/dev/null.
posted by serathen at 3:21 PM on October 13, 2019

Download Readline.dll for Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7, Vista and XP.