It's That Time of Year Again
September 30, 2019 8:56 AM   Subscribe

Help me make an awesome Halloween costume. Necessities inside.

I'm a preschool teacher so I need something kid friendly. I went as a cat last year (black shirt and pants, cat ears and drawn on face). This is the kind of simplicity I'm looking for. It has to be comfortable because I'm often running/jumping/skipping/sitting on the floor. I can't pay an arm and a leg* and bonus points for things that can be reused like the shirt and pants from last year. Recognizable characters for books/movies/TV shows are fine. I can have a hat or headband, but nothing that covers my face.

I have access to cheap makeup, but my skin is fairly sensitive. I'm a mid-forties female about 5'5" and a size 12-14.

*They pay preschool teachers peanuts when those are some of the most important years of a child's live. Makes no sense to me.
posted by kathrynm to Clothing, Beauty, & Fashion (15 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

Miss Frizzle from The Magic Schoolbus? No need for makeup, maybe just a wig and a kooky dress.

Loonette the Clown from The Big Comfy Couch? No makeup, just a clown nose and a distinctive hairstyle - and big comfy overalls with striped socks.
posted by EmpressCallipygos at 9:03 AM on September 30, 2019

I'm no hero, I admit it, but under similar constraints I have grabbed a onesie pajama. They have them at Target if you want to go in person but Amazon's selection is great. You can go Cute Animal or Movie Character, maybe some other ones too. Is it "awesome"? Probably not, but kids seem to like it.
posted by fingersandtoes at 9:09 AM on September 30, 2019 [1 favorite]

You could be a bat pretty easily with the black outfit, like this (shows a dress, but the wings are the key): https://www.sheknows.com/living/articles/1053137/easy-diy-bat-halloween-costume/
posted by nkknkk at 9:16 AM on September 30, 2019 [1 favorite]