Best practices 2019 for Facebook as a professional?
September 9, 2019 11:53 AM   Subscribe

I quit Facebook in 2010 when I went back to school. It was great! I am now thinking of setting up a Facebook page to help manage my name as brand identity as I'm now an established medical professional.

My secondary goal would be that my martial arts team and the local beer collectives all use fb to announce - and register for - events.

What are current best practices in this as I've been off Facebook since I started school? Other than the aforementioned 'being aware of events', I really don't want to have any personal life on this Facebook.
posted by cobaltnine to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Hmmm- I think a Linkd In profile might serve your needs better? I rarely see Facebook used in this way.
posted by jeszac at 12:27 PM on September 9

Are you a medical professional that is looking to promote your business via Facebook? If so, a page would make more sense than a personal profile.
posted by k8t at 12:50 PM on September 9 [2 favorites]

You can use Facebook this way, but its kind of boring... I mean Facebook is so by design, and using it for branding even more so.

If you want to create some sort of brand identity in your field, you can do that through FB, but you have to spend time engaging other people in your field... just post articles about your professional field, share articles posted by high profile / active users in your community, and don't ever get sucked into pointless debates with your conservative relatives who insist on posting Infowars links on your account. Better yet, don't friend your relatives or friends, and make sure your account is set on private throughout.

I do think if you are *really* trying to develop a professional presence in your field, LinkedIn will do you better, and on preview, a page would be better than a personal account. FB can mostly just get you into trouble.