Documenting projects without deadlines
September 9, 2019 10:16 AM   Subscribe

I'm trying to figure out how to organize my work projects at my new job and I'm having trouble finding something that meets all of my personal requirements. I need more of a journal type system I think, and I'm looking for suggestions.

At the heart I want to be able to make notes for each project I work on each day so that when I open the project I see where I left off. I want the notes organized by date, so something like Trello is too nebulous since you can move and drag things into any order. With OneNote, my lists were just getting too long too fast and I couldn't find what I was looking for. With Excel I had too many tabs. Not all of my tasks come from email, so I didn't think Outlook would be a good choice. I wouldn't mind paying for this but probably no more than $10/mo. I am a trained programmer but don't really want to roll my own if I don't have to. I'm running Windows 10.

Here's what I'm hoping for.
*Easily access a list of projects, each with its own page
*Be able to mark a project complete and ideally archive it
*Be able to set a simple status at the project level (Completed, Pending User, etc)
*For each project, be able to add a date and a text note to keep a history of what was done
*To be able to see the full project history on the project's page
*For this to be reasonable to use with say 10-15 projects active at a time
*Bonus: To be able to pull data on what I documented on a specific day

There are a lot of project management tools out there I've looked at that seem more focused on managing to specific deadlines. This really isn't for deadline work, and it's just for me, so I don't have to have collaborative features. I don't need to track actual time spent and I don't need a master task list or a Kanban type thing.
posted by possibilityleft to Work & Money (6 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite