Problem Solve My Work Problem
July 16, 2019 1:28 PM   Subscribe

How do I (a non-profit middle manager) fairly assign additional work to members of my team?

I'm a middle manager at a small non-profit (total staff of about 20 people). Once a year, we have a project that requires a handful of people (about 6 - 8) to take on "extra" hours of work. The project is 6 weeks long and requires around 6 hours per week of additional work, for a total of around 40 hours over the six weeks. In past years, we've assigned this project to staff who have lighter workloads or to newer staff who haven't yet reached full capacity in their workload. Most staff have been able to fit the additional 5-6 hours per week into their 40-hour workweek. In some instances, we can approve overtime (with pay) for people who go over 40 hours (however this can turn into a slippery slope based on different staff members' time management skills - or lack thereof). However, we don't have a great system for figuring this out, and we increasingly have staff who are at full capacity, making this a real extra stretch for some of them.
My question is in two parts:
1) What's the most fair and efficient process for us to decide which staff members should be assigned this task going forward (right now we are considering a lottery system with exclusions for anyone who already done this task twice)?
2) What are our best options for compensating staff who do take on this extra work? What would you want in terms of compensation? (So far, we've thought of trying to take other tasks off of people's plates and offering overtime for people who really can't fit everything into 40 hours).
posted by sleepingwithcats to Work & Money (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite