I have an intellectual property?
July 5, 2019 3:41 PM   Subscribe

I've created something and I don't know whether to turn it into research or try to sell it. Please help me figure out where to go from here.

In addition to being study abroad professional/full-time staff member for 10 years, I am currently a graduate student in a PhD program at my university in the U.S. During spring semester, we were assigned a final project to create a system of educational quality. For my project, I completed a survey of literature on student decision-making in study abroad and created a prototype of a method that would (IMHO) do a much better job of matching students with programs based on decision-making factors and a visual system to support student agency in the process. I was proud to show what I had made, and explained that we had talked about perhaps paying our software vender to implement it for use in our advising processes.

However, at the conclusion of my presentation, I was very surprised to receive feedback from the AVP at my research institution (who was co-teaching the course) that I should pursue a patent for my intellectual property. I have also since received pushes and offers of support from my department for pursuing this project as well.

Let me say, having an IP is completely out of my range of experience and knowledge.

As a first step, I did run a notification form through our Tech Transfer office and have received in writing a notice that because it was a class project my university does NOT consider itself to have any rights. This news is both good (yay for 100% instead of 30%) but also difficult it also means that I don't have the structural support for where to go.