Documenting the impending loss of nature due to climate change
July 5, 2019 11:45 AM   Subscribe

I'm an amateur photographer who's been seeking a "purpose", and I think I found it after reading The Unshakable Necessity of Nature Documentaries in the face of Ecological Ruin". What resources can help me plan vacations and trips to natural areas that will be destroyed in the coming years of climate change?

My spouse and I like to visit areas with lots of nature, and we like to travel. I like to take photos, I have good equipment and technical skills. It is clear that many animals, plants, and ecosystems will be destroyed within our lifetimes. If I can do a little bit of good by adding to the global collection of photos to remember things lost, I will. I'm looking for resources that help identify what will be lost soonest, to concentrate on those. Can be water-based environments and phenomena (we can scuba dive).
posted by StrawberryPie to Science & Nature (11 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

This is going to be tricky, since climate change by its very nature is both slow and unpredictable (in the sense that specific events are going to be difficult to capture).

I'm not aware of any specific resources for photographers in the fields you mention, so what follows is more a collection of ideas:
  • The NOAA Sea Level Rise Viewer and the Flood Level Viewer may be helpful in determining areas that will be affected by sea level rise. (The former, calibrated in feet, is going to be slightly more sensitive, but is restricted to the US; the latter is in meters, and its unlikely that we'll experience a 1-meter rise in sea level in your lifetime).
  • Similarly, visualisation tools like Earth can provide you an overview of current weather conditions, showing where "hotspots" are developing.