How to get into enterprise software sales
June 12, 2019 7:37 PM   Subscribe

I'm interested in starting a career in enterprise software sales (ie. work at Salesforce), or any other B2B sales job. I have no sales experience, the only thing I can get is telemarketing. I'm unsure if that will lead anywhere.

So, what's a good entry point for a person with no sales experience?
posted by catbird to Work & Money (8 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

What is your prior work experience? It's hard to say specifically what you should do without knowing your background, but generally enterprise sales jobs require some knowledge of the product you're selling. Since you mentioned Salesforce, do you have experience using the product? Or any enterprise-level product?

If you have no sales experience, companies of that size will also look for you having experience with their product, or with fluency in any enterprise-level product that you can translate into sales jargon. If you have neither, it's a tougher sell but not impossible - just looking at a random Salesforce sales job from their website (albeit this one's in Buenos Aires), their entry level requirements are:

- Fluency in written and verbal English and Spanish
- Bachelor's Degree from a 4-Year University preferred
- 1-4 Years of corporate experience, outside of undergraduate graduation (Software sales is a plus)

I would assume US-based jobs don't have the Spanish requirement, but if you do speak a second language, it's definitely a plus.

If you know someone at an enterprise software company, leverage that someone; take them to lunch, ask them if they'd be willing to set up an informational interview with a manager or sales director or something, and get more info that way.