Taking a bullet (journal)
June 4, 2019 9:38 AM   Subscribe

I am in need of a more effective way to keep my life in order. I need to be able to see and adjust the big picture (months) and the needs of the hour easily. My Google calendar is a mess and no matter what I do, there are times that entries go inexplicably missing and then show up again later. My day planner is ridiculously inadequate. What works for you in 2019?

I need something better. I don't want everything to be on my phone because I need to type on a keyboard instead of on a phone to make this efficient (I'm in my 50s, and my thumbs have never caught up in speed to the texting age.)
I'm seriously thinking that going back to analog is best (or combining?) but I need a system.
I have been interested in bullet journaling, but when I watched this tutorial it just seemed so overcomplicated and overwhelming.
I'm a humanities professor if that makes a difference to any suggestions.
What do you do?
posted by nantucket to Grab Bag (17 answers total) 37 users marked this as a favorite

I answered a similar question about simple resources for easy bullet journaling in 2016; you might find some good answers and links there!

I also really like Shutterbean's approach and her post about bullet journal layout ideas; she often shares pictures of her bullet journal, and it's imperfect and practical and gave me a lot of courage to make mine look whatever way works best for me.
posted by stellaluna at 9:47 AM on June 4 [4 favorites]