Converting/transferring my California driver's license to DC?
April 14, 2019 1:14 PM   Subscribe

I've been living in DC since college (7+ years). Still have a CA driver's license. Is it recommended to transfer/covert?

I have been working and living in DC over 7+ years, after graduating from college. During that time, I still held on my CA driver's license, and renewed it using my parents' address once, because I wasn't sure if I was going to stay in DC or not at that time, and that's what my parents recommended I do. Otherwise, I have been a DC resident, working and paying tax here. My only interaction with CA's government was the driver's license part, that's it. I'm (I think) registered in CA, to vote, but I didn't get a chance to vote in the past few years. I've rented too, so I do have proof of DC residency (leases), should it ever become an issue. I did get a jury notice from my local county, a few years ago, but my parents told them I no longer lived there.

I am seriously considering finally transferring my license to DC (the license is set to expire next year). A few caveats, though.

a) I'm still not sure if I'll be living in DC next year. I'm renewing my lease, but I'm still uncertain. My entire family is in California, and I'm the only one in DC, so that's very difficult for me at times. However, my job is here, my friends are (mostly) here, so more likely, yes.
b) Would I have to take the driving test again? I'm a bit unclear with how that works.
c) What if I do transfer here, then I end up unexpectedly moving back to CA? It'd be a pain to have to re-transfer.