Is my boss trying to get rid of me?
March 19, 2019 6:22 PM   Subscribe

At my bi-annual performance review in February my boss brought up that I have been in this job nearly two years (it has been 1 year and 6 months or so) and asked if I had thought about my next steps in my career. I replied that I had some ambitions (to achieve the next level up for example) but that I did not intend on moving from my role soon because I was still learning.

Today she “West-winged” me and brought up an opportunity in our department which has not got much to do with what we do, saying that I had attended a lecture on that topic organised by the Department and enjoyed it. There are several roles and it could be at my level or a level higher. I thanked her for thinking of me but said I feel like I am still learning, though I will check it out and see if it looks interesting. In fact I have already seen it and am not interested. I expressed my desire to achieve the next level but said i am not sure if it is realistic in the short term and she said nothing, sort of changed the subject.

This is the same boss as my question a few days ago, who always rewrites my work, but not the same one as has made comments about my self confidence (though she did today and I said thanks for your concern but I don’t think there is anything wrong with my self confidence)

My question is: should I be worried? Is she trying to warn me that they are trying to get rid of me? Is she trying to get rid of me?

Interested to hear your thoughts, thanks MeFi!
posted by EatMyHat to Work & Money (14 answers total)

maybe. Or she could be trying to help your career along. In the best run organizations, part of managers' evaluation is whether they develop their teams, as measured by whether their people get promoted.