Disorganized freelance client and not enough hours
February 7, 2019 2:07 PM   Subscribe

I've been working for a freelance client remotely for a few years, and lately it's not working that well. I like the work, but the overarching problem is that she (an entrepreneur) is pretty disorganized, which is affecting my workload and enabling my own bad habits. Note: We live in different states. How can I help fix this situation?

Here are the main issues I need to address:

1. This job was originally advertised as 25-30 hrs. a week, but for the last two years I've had an average of 10... (I didn't even realize this till recently, eek.) Fortunately, I've had other clients throughout -- but not anymore, so this is not sustainable! I need at least 20 hours. I did get an overdue raise, 8%, in December.

2. We use Slack, and she'll often either not read/not see (?) many of my posts/messages, so later she'll ask something I already said, or not answer what I asked.

3. Lately, she's not delegating some major stuff to me that she should be, and not hiring another freelancer to do certain tasks that she considers "below" my position. (The latter was her idea. One of these tasks is negatively affecting my main tasks.)

4. I set up an organizational system last year that she was fine with and that we were using, but she's using it to a lesser extent now, which isn't nearly as helpful to keep us on track.

5. We've had weekly planning meetings by phone in the past, but we haven't done this in months. I keep forgetting to ask ... because I'm a bit disorganized too, for sure.

6. She misses her own deadlines, which has conditioned me to think that deadlines don't matter too much -- and then be lax about my own. I know this is bad, and not an excuse.