What's it like to transition to teaching high school after academia?
February 6, 2019 7:06 AM   Subscribe

I teach adjunct at a great university, but yeah, well, adjunct. I found a job listing recently at a nice private school for a high school/middle school journalism teacher. I'd love thoughts on what this might be like or if it would be a good fit.

I have been an adjunct lecturer (in basically the English department) for about six years at an excellent university. It's been great for me and my family in that it is flexible and, as far as adjunct goes, not badly paid. I like teaching my students, who are sharp and motivated. But it will never be a full-time job, and though I've tried for more permanent ones, it's never worked out for me. My kids are getting older now, and I don't need quite the flexibility I did when they were smaller.

I've heard of a few of my colleagues leaving to teach at (mostly private) high schools, but never thought it was for me. But I recently came across a job listing for a job teaching high school/middle school journalism. It's not a bad fit for me; the school sounds lovely, and though my background is in English, I've done quite a bit of freelance writing/journalism myself. The pay is great -- way more than I thought it would be, and the job has other benefits I like (for example, tuition waivers for my kids).

Before I apply (and perhaps interview), I'd love to know more about what this switch might look like. Also, I've taught summer school classes that included a few motivated high schoolers, but mostly I've taught very sharp undergraduates. I have used a lot of creative teaching methods that I think would translate at least somewhat, but I have no idea, really, what it would be like to teach MIDDLE SCHOOL, too. The job requires an advanced degree, but does not require a teaching degree. Oh, and I've taught a number of introductory writing classes as well but again, college level.