Where can I find people who need an Apple IT consultant
January 31, 2019 7:14 AM   Subscribe

I am a one person IT consultant who has about 10 small business (1-50 employees) and residential clients at a time, for whom I provide ongoing support for servers, network, helping users, etc. I've been doing this since 2010, all via word of mouth. I'd like to gain 1-2 new clients a year. Where can I find them?

I have tried advertising on Yelp which didn't get any leads. I don't want a consumer with a broken phone screen, I want a business that doesn't want to hire a full time IT person, so I'm trying to figure out where that company would be looking.

Would a Google Business profile be useful, or will it be similar to Yelp? My home would be my address as I don't have an office and go to my client's offices. Would that cause confusion as I don't want people coming to my home? Would I be able to not have an address but target an area (Manhattan)?

I'm also interested in expanding to help individuals with setting up 2 factor and a password manager, but the same question remains of where are those people looking?
posted by ridogi to Work & Money (20 answers total) 5 users marked this as a favorite

Have you politely mentioned this to your existing clients? They may know other Mac-using small businesspeople who they could recommend you to -- even if it's anonymously. :7)

AFAIK, word of mouth is king here.
posted by wenestvedt at 7:23 AM on January 31, 2019 [3 favorites]

Response by poster: Yes, all of my clients are word of mouth. I would just like to supplement that.
posted by ridogi at 7:28 AM on January 31, 2019

I own a B2B software business. I have staff members who work on a lot of this stuff, but we're still pretty small and growing, so I think our experience is relevant.