What is your favourite slow cooker recipe book?
January 17, 2019 11:02 PM   Subscribe

What it says on the tin- I received a slow cooker just before Christmas and am looking for a cookbook to use with it. I would like it to contain a variety of recipes- risottos, meat and vegetables, pasta whatever. I have never used a slow cooker before and am an intermediate cook (I have basic skills but something with techniques in it would not be wasted). Most importantly recipes should be tasty!!
posted by EatMyHat to Food & Drink (8 answers total) 8 users marked this as a favorite

Slow Cooker Revolution would be my recommendation; I'm a huge fan of the publications by America's Test Kitchen. I have made many recipes from this book with great results. It has a recipe for an overnight French toast/bread pudding that has blown a few minds over the years.
posted by EKStickland at 11:12 PM on January 17 [3 favorites]

Forgot to add: I’m Australian so measurements need to be metric or cups and tablespoons
posted by EatMyHat at 11:12 PM on January 17

This is going to sound really weird, but the CEO of T-Mobile is a big slow cooker fan and he put out a cookbook around Christmas, which I bought on a whim. He apparently does a Facebook show every week that is him just talking and throwing food in a slow cooker, and it gets millions of viewers. Who knew? Anyway, I've done a couple of the recipies and they've been tasty. Budget Bytes (online) is another place whose recipes are in my regular rotation.
posted by COD at 5:17 AM on January 18 [1 favorite]

I hate to do the annoying thing where your question says, "I need a metric cookbook" and I respond by saying "Have you considered non-metric cookbooks?" but... Have you considered non-metric cookbooks?