How to form a "Friends of" nonprofit?
December 19, 2018 6:35 AM   Subscribe

I am on the board of a public committee, and would like to set up a "Friends of" nonprofit so that we'll be more able to manage our own money (for example, we'd like to set up scholarships for some of our activities, etc). We currently earn that money entirely through our own fundraising events, we receive no public funds. What are the steps to setting up a nonprofit like that? How can I manage a "Friends of" nonprofit successfully?

I am an accountant, so I do understand the financial side of managing the money fairly well, but not the legal side of setting up the nonprofit in the first place. Also, if any of you have done this, I would appreciate tips on how to make it run successfully.

For context: I have been on this committee for three years and have had involvement with it since childhood, so I do have some social capital there. I have brought up the nonprofit idea a few times over the last year, and other committee members have been very supportive. There are many other "Friends of" nonprofits connected to comparable public committees in our city ("Friends of" the Archeology Commission, etc).

We are having a committee-wide strategy meeting next month and I would like to be able to present the formation of a "Friends of" nonprofit in a clear and concise way to everyone, and to have the logistics in place so that I can pull the trigger on its creation if I get a "yes" vote from the rest of the group to go forward.

This is all in Virginia, USA.
posted by rue72 to Law & Government (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite